Picks

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season.I certainly did, having a few days off nearly drove me nuts, but I probably needed it.I don’t think my wife did though, poor woman.

I have received a few suggestions for writing subjects that a couple of students wanted to know more about.I really appreciate the ideas and if anyone has any subjects that would be interesting to you, please let me know.

I want to start with picks.Picks, as you may have noticed, come in many shapes, sizes, materials, and colors.Technically, the color wouldn’t matter except that some pick manufacturers use the colors for ease of identifying a pick’s thickness.Most commonly are Jim Dunlop picks.Go ahead and take the link.The number and variance of picks will boggle your mind.

I used the Tortex Red and Orange picks for years before switching to what I currently use; which are Fender 351 Celluloid Thin and Medium.Vince Lewis told me years ago that he uses these picks but in white and he sounds great.My first teaching gig was in a room beside him.How’s that for pressure?I don’t use the thins except in special circumstances and I usually give them away to new students just to be sure that have at least one proper pick as a beginner.I switched to the Fender picks because I liked the sound that Vince was getting.Plus, I like the smell of a box of Fender picks.Really.

I usually suggest that folks not use a heavy pick.Find one, grip it tight, and strum a chord on your instrument and you will hear why.Until you get really comfortable letting the pick float between your thumb and index, you will likely sound like what you just played.

Stay away from the big, honkin’ triangle pick too.I have no idea why these are even made.I’m always entertained when a little kid comes in with one of these, Heavy of course, and it’s almost as big as his hand.

So, I would suggest that you spend a couple dollars trying every pick that you think you might like so you can know what you really prefer.Try different sizes, materials, and shapes.

I think strings will be in order for next week.Until then, remember everyday practice is best, even if only for a little while.

-Justin

P.S.I recently found this video of me playing bass recently.Check it out.

Cheap Music Lessons

One thought on “Picks”

  1. Justin,

    Thanks for keeping in your mailing! I look forward to reading your blurbs. I agree on the Big Picks! Where in the world did someone decide kids needed big picks! Not only do you have to learn how to coordinate your fingers on the fret board but you gotta learn how to hold onto that big un-naturally big and hard pick. Give me a thumb! At least it’s attached and I can’t drop it. LOL.

    Jeannette

What do you think?

