Acoustic or Electric Guitar

To me this conundrum is similar to the ‘Lead or Rhythm’ question I get from people when they learn that I play guitar.I was not aware that I had to choose one or the other.

So, I chose to do both.

When a person starts to play guitar; a choice is usually made between purchasing an acoustic or electric instrument.Recently, a package deal for either will cost about the same.Even if a person chooses to start with electric bass, a package deal is comparable in price and quality its guitar counterparts.

I started with bass.I loved playing bass and I still do.The reason I started playing guitar is because I wanted to play more detailed music when I was playing alone.I started with an acoustic guitar and later moved to an electric.

For the beginning student, I suggest starting with the instrument that you want to play most: acoustic or electric guitar.Here is why: if you get what you want, you are more likely to practice through the ‘I’m terrible’ part of learning.(Which never goes away really, but that is a different issue altogether)

We want to play one or the other because that is the sound we prefer to hear.I like both depending on the role or atmosphere I am trying to create.To me, they are simply different in the way a watercolor or oil painting are different.

See Watercolor & Oil.

For our discussion, it is a matter of sound texture and vegetables.

There is a terrible myth that I would like to debunk right now.That it is better to start with acoustic because it is more difficult to play, thereby making electric easier.

WHAT!?

Should we learn to drive a tractor-trailer first so that driving a car will be easier?

Should we have, as babies, learned to eat with a serving spoon?

I understand if you have believed this myth.I do not blame you because I am sure you heard it from someone else.

Ignore them from now on.You do not know what else they may be lying to you about.

No matter whether you play electric or acoustic guitar, you may eventually decide that you like the sound of the other as well.So, then, you only have one more to purchase.Be careful though, some folks acquire what is called: GAS, or Gear Acquisition Syndrome.

-Justin

Cheap Music Lessons

2 thoughts on “Acoustic or Electric Guitar”

  1. Gear Acquisition Syndrome: A joke about being unable to refrain from buying new gear whether or not one has a immediate use for it.

    Why would a person need 46 guitars?

What do you think?

