Enough Practice

I know that I have written frequently on the subject of practice, but I have noticed that some students are not getting the point.

What is enough practice time?Ten minutes per day? One hour? Four Hours? Eight Hours?

How many repetitions should we have before moving to something else during our practice time? One time each practice session? Ten times? One hundred times?

I usually define ‘enough practice’ as: ‘working on something enough to know that you are better than when you started the session’.Reaching this goal does not need to take a long time.It does, however, take a lot of repetition. Most students should be working on the exercise in the following video.Use this video to warm-up with each day and see what a difference it makes after one week.

If you are not quick enough to play the later sections, you can play at your pace all the way through.The fretting hand only goes faster at the end.All of the other speed changes are with the picking hand.

(I engage in meditative/trance practice; I’ll explain later.)

For the beginner, I suggest just a few minutes each day.In the beginning, the progress is not very musical, so limiting practice time keeps folks from getting too discouraged.

When I start something new with a student, very often the student will stop practicing everything else.Until practicing all of your material takes more than one hour; you have no reason to leave something out of your practice time.

I am considering creating a seven part video series showing me practicing for one hour.This would give you some ideas on what you could accomplish in one hour’s time.Let me know what you think of this idea.

-Justin

Cheap Music Lessons

What do you think?

