Who? Me?

The personalization of one’s music experience is required.What I am talking about is making the music you play about you.

Many of us have spent way too much time working on tunes or technical skills that we believe will be impressive to others.I do it as much as anyone else.I may even engage in this silliness more than average because of the ingrained belief I have that I should play what others want to hear.Something about better musical employment is usually attached to this belief.

It is a lie!

Think about some famous musicians and their sound: Angus Young, Jimi Hendrix, Jimmy Page, Wes Montgomery, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Eddie Van Halen, B.B. King, Carlos Santana, Eric Johnson, Chuck Berry, Buddy Guy, Joe Pass, Kenny Burrell, Barney Kessel, and many others.

I have included some musicians that some of you have may not have heard of, because I wanted to give you a chance to hear them.These musicians sound only like themselves and are likely to be recognized within seconds of hearing them play.

I have a couple of posts of my playing that I believe represent my ‘Sound’.Listen here, watch here.

Not that I compare to those above.

Thanks,

-Justin

P.S.Here’s a fun little quiz: Which Famous Guitarist Are You?

Cheap Music Lessons

What do you think?

