A 36 Day Diary of Gig Preparation 17

My work today was focused more on smaller bits of songs.Areas that are weak, but passable, were repeated at slower tempi and then played faster.

As I mentioned before, I have been playing my acoustic during most of my preparation.With today’s work, I observed that my issues in certain instances are magnified.In regard to clear notes during hammer-ons and pull-offs with the middle and pinky fingers, there have not been clean notes.That would be a problem, right?

I also noticed an old weakness with the same two fingers.Playing a minor third on strings two and one, I noticed that I was rolling the knuckle down on the middle finger to make the first string’s note.This seems to work on the electric, but it definitely does not work on an acoustic.The middle finger needs to travel further before pressing the first string.The problem has always been that I do not position the middle finger so that it falls directly onto the first string.

I have been waiting for the acoustic to uncover the lies I have been living as a guitarist.I guess these are some of them.

-Justin

Cheap Music Lessons

One thought on “A 36 Day Diary of Gig Preparation 17”

  1. And you used to think acoustic was so “easy.” 🙂 I kept telling you the acoustic demands perfection–or as close to it as humanly possible.

    Have a great week!

What do you think?

