Time Management

Greetings,

I am reading a book called: The 4-Hour Workweek by Timothy Ferriss.It is not about time management, per se, but rather about living one’s life according to one’s own requirements, and ridding ourselves of all of the behaviors and attitudes that waste our lives.

While I really prefer not to mention such thoughts, the irony of Mr. Ferriss’ last name consisting of two double letters and how time would be saved by using single letters and achieving the same pronunciation made me giggle.

Yes, I am weird.(By the way, does everyone else need to spell weird both ways to decide which to use?I think the ‘I before E’ rule should be ignored.)

Anyway, in his book, Mr. Ferriss makes quite a number of challenges in regard to my daily habits regarding work and communication.What is most interesting to me is that he actually presents them as challenges in which the reader is to participate.

I have not yet accepted any of the challenges, but I am certainly considering them.A particular challenge that is specific to my ‘need’ to stay ‘topped off’ with information is the ‘Low Information Diet’.

The start of this challenge is to live an entire week without any newspapers, magazines, audiobooks, TV, talk radio, books (except The 4-Hour Workweek) or online news.

!

Then, we are to develop the habit of asking ourselves; “Will I definitely use this information for something immediate and important?”This saves us the time of refreshing our memory of something later thereby making our first exposure to the information useless.Think of all the time you have spent reading or doing something that does not put you closer to a goal in your life.

I do that A LOT!

(Stay with me here, I will actually attempt to put you closer to a goal of yours by the end of this blog post.)

Finally, and I have a real problem with this as well, Mr. Ferriss asserts that we should develop the ‘Non-Finishing’ habit.In other words, if what you are doing, reading, watching or listening to is boring, pointless, or otherwise not what you would prefer; stop!There is no need to waste your time or patience.

I will find the ‘Non-Finishing’ habit a difficult one to develop because I have always bought into the idea the ‘finishing what one has started’ and ‘perseverance’ as honorable traits.

Mr. Ferriss’ point is that we waste entirely too much of our lives engaging in pointless activities that help us and others in no real way.I agree; we should all take note of exactly what we do during the course of a day, week, month or year and judge each activity in light of what we truly want in our lives.

Most of us want more time to do enjoyable activities in life.I certainly have not been enjoying all of the activities I participate in during each week and I am seeking ways to either eliminate them or have someone else do them.

So, if you do not have enough time to play music or whatever you truly want to do, find something else to not do.

Or call me if you need a part-, part-time job.

-Justin

http://guitarlessonslynchburg.com/

2 thoughts on “Time Management”

  1. Yes, you are weird, but that’s vastly preferable to being normal, so it’s all good. And I need Mr. Ferriss’ number, since I would like to not work every day to have more time to read and play music and I will need him to supplement my income. And, having an end goal is great, but isn’t life an experiential endeavor? Shouldn’t we do some things that are simply for the experience, not necessarily toward that end goal? Kantian philosophy dictates treating other beings with regards for their dignity as an end in themselves, not simply as a means to an end–and, to see each experience as an end in itself, something never to be had again and, therefore, precious. If not everything we do drives that straight path to the end goal we set for ourselves, what of it? And, on the topic of end-goals: is Mr. Ferriss speaking of the terminal goal: that philosophical place we want to be when we die, or just the end of our working life? The end goals for each of these may be very different. So, I make time for what I want to do because my terminal goal is to have as few regrets as possible. Would this be okay with Mr. Ferriss?

    What do you think?

  2. I think Mr. Ferriss’ point is that school-work-retirement-death is not a required flow-chart for one’s life. We can interject mini-retirements within our lifetime.

    J.

What do you think?

