Finding Time – The Art of Choice

A student recently told me of quite a blessing. ‘The best thing that’s ever happened to me’ is how he put it.

His X-Box died.

The RED RING OF DEATH.

(I think that’s what he said.)

Anyway, we both noticed a great improvement in his playing in just one week. He said he was practicing about 30 minutes each day with a much greater focus than before his new-found freedom from the digital grip of gaming.

I often need to reorient my focus in regard to how I spend my flexible time ‘On the Job’. There are many work related items on my ‘To Do’ list that can and do distract me from keeping my ‘Chops’ up on my instrument. I have to be as vigilant as anyone to keep a proper schedule of practicing.

What do you do instead of practicing?

-Justin

http://guitarlessonslynchburg.com/

What do you think?

