Waiting for the Muse – Guitar Lessons Lynchburg

The Muse: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muse

Muses 2

One of my ‘Behavioral Modification Pacts’ this year (formerly known as New Year’s Resolutions) is to become more aware of ‘tail-chasing’ and immediately stop all activity and just sit. No TV, no reading, no internet, no mindless practicing; just sitting.

As a Type-A, production-at-all-costs sort of a fellow, there is a need for me to stop frequently and seriously consider what I am doing and why. It’s OK to do absolutely nothing sometimes.

The greatest effects of this pause are a decrease in mental scrambling, a relaxed attitude, and, funny enough, BETTER productivity.  There has not been much of an increase in productivity, but less wasted time and fewer mistakes that require more time and effort to correct. Plus, I am enjoying what I am doing instead of just ‘Completing a Task’.

There is also a more meaningful connection to the activity in which I am engaging. No matter if it’s practicing music, teaching, watching TV, research, time with family, or just eating; I am more ‘In The Moment’ with my chosen activity.

-Justin

http://guitarlessonslynchburg.com/

 

4 thoughts on “Waiting for the Muse – Guitar Lessons Lynchburg”

  1. I love this post Justin, and find myself having the same challenges to simply “be” sometimes.

    Thanks for your calls a while back and sorry I didn’t get back with you…I am not in a position to take guitar right now, but am thinking about voice lessons for Allie perhaps during the summer.

    Happy Spring and hope to talk with you soon! Susan Allen

    1. Hey, Susan!

      I hope all is well your way. It’s good to hear that I’m not the only one struggling to remain connected. Thanks for the kind words.

      Give me a ring when you are ready to get Allie started.

      -Justin
      434 609 3672

  2. You know Justin, I really don’t spend any time watching TV and really haven’t since junior high school, for the most part, TV sucks and is a waste of time. Good to have the guitar for company.

What do you think?

